Focus, Not Hocus Pocus

This morning I dragged myself out of bed and meandered outside to see what the weather was like .As I stood by the window I looked down and saw a black cat walk right in front of me.  I laughed to myself thinking "if I were superstitious, I guess I would have a bad day so I should go back to bed now."  Although the whole "going back to bed" thing was really appealing to me, I knew I couldn’t because I’m a Christian and I know that this is a day the Lord has made, I will rejoice and be glad in it.  It doesn’t matter if it turns out good or bad, I will still be blessed.

There are a lot of myths and old wives’ tales of things that will supposedly bring us bad luck, like walking under a ladder, breaking a mirror, or having a black cat walk in front of you.  These are all just goofy myths that we don’t need to pay any attention to.  It’s easy to get involved in these things since they seem a little scary and thrilling, but when we do that, we turn our attention away from God to the devil.
The scripture verse says we need to train ourselves to be godly.  Well, how do we do that?  Well, we need to know what is true and what is not.  In the spiritual world there are only two kinds of power and they are God’s power and the devil’s power.  God’s is more powerful because He is the creator.  Satan was an angel, he was created.  He could never be as powerful or more powerful than God.  God’s power is the only good power; Satan’s is bad, although both are very real.  A good example of the way the devil confuses people is with witchcraft. I know witches and warlocks who claim to practice "white" or "light" magic.  The truth of the matter is that they are using the devil’s power to cast the spells they use.
Right now, it’s 5:30 pm and I haven’t had any bad luck yet. Is it because I’m lucky?  No, it’s because cats and mirrors and ladders don’t run the world.  God does.  God promises us that we will be blessed everyday.  Does that mean everyday will be great?  No, but we will still be blessed.  The only way these fairy tales can have power over you is for you to allow them to.  It all comes down to what you believe.  Do you believe God is more powerful then a cat?  If so, how can a weak little cat stop me from being blessed?  It can’t.  God wants us to live life to the full and we can’t do that if we are worried about small, furry animals and pieces of wood.  If a black cat happens to walk in front of you today, pet it.  The worst it can do is bite you.  But it can never stop you from being blessed.

Have nothing to do with Godless myths and old wives’ tales rather, train your self to be Godly. Timothy  4:7 (NIV)
    • Unknown
    • March 31st, 2006

    Angel!!
    Disculpame por la explicación que te di, pero es que, ya te dije que soy dirente al resto, jajajaajajaja
    ¿Tendre que buscar un traductor para poder leerte?
    Jooo que no sé ingles…. jejeje
    o mejor aprendo ¿verdad?
    bueno campeón que un besazo muuu grande, seguire pesando a ver si me pones algo en castellano😉

    • Cary
    • March 31st, 2006

    Didn\’t realised that u wre so religious…maybe cause ur mexican inheritage. i don\’t mean that as a stereotype or insult or anything at all. It\’s just growing up in trinidad next to Venezuela, there are also many ppl with Latin heritage and we have all realised the some ov latin america like Colombia, Peru, Mexico etc. are generally very religious people.
     
    For example, when i was small, my principal in school brought the replica of Our Lady of Guadeloupe to the school for us to line up and touch. Trinidad is very religious too, ut we have many different religions: Baptist, Orisha, Muslim, Catholic, methodist, jehovah\’s witness, Presbaterian, Hindu, Anglican, Bah\’ai, and other smaller ones as well.
     
    I am religious but not as much anymore🙂
     
    anyway, yes superstition is not my thing either. I\’ve had blck cats walk everywhere around me, but i still don\’t believ in it, and i always walk under ladders, lol, just to see what would happen afterwards, lol, and nothing did!
     
    Thanks for the opinions on my space! my opinions seem apparently to be aggitating some guys, lol …I love it! lol
     
    I didn\’t expect u to agreee with me though… anyway, (well this was a long comment) bye for now

    • Angel
    • March 31st, 2006

    Hi\’ ANGEL of the morning !!
    This entry was really deep you know? It made me think and  you right,there is not better lucky charm that you feith in GOD.
    That\’s why I have decide to throw away my lucky crystal, and trust blindly in God.
    when ever I felt in truble I used to rub my crystal for luck (it never worked) LOL
    Now that I got rid of it some how I feel liberated and soemthing stranged happend , the day looks briter to me.you are a real ANGEL are you?

    • Angel
    • March 31st, 2006

    ANGEL, can you help me to fix my windows player ( how to put it ) I making a new blog The one I have never worked , the comands function never did anything .Please email me the instructions.
    Gracias senorito tenga una semana buena bye.

    • Luanne
    • March 31st, 2006

    AQUI PASANDO A SALUDAR!!😄 GRAXX POR VISITARME!! CUIDESE Y SALUDOS DESDE MEXICO CITY…:) BABAY

    • •SαяaÏ•
    • March 31st, 2006

    HOLA MI ANGELITO HERMOSO TUVE KE TRADUCIR ESTO POR KE NO LO PUSISTE EN ESPAÑOL:\'( KE MALO ALGO LEI MAS O MENOS SOBRE LA SUPERSTICION Y LA BENDICION DE DIOS ACERKA DE UN GATO Y OTRAS KOSILLAS BUENO….SE VE KE ESKRIBES KOSAS INTERESANTE EH…NO SE ESPERA MENOS DE ALGUIEN KOMO TU ;)…ACERKA DE MIS FOTOS SI VISTE LAS DE MI KASA ENTONCES YA KONOCISTE A TODA MI FAMILIA DESDE MI SOBRINO HASTA MI PAPA KE KASI NUNKA HACISTE, Y WOA SE TE AGRADECE LO BIEN KE TE EXPRESAS DE MI PUEDO ASEGURAR KE TU TAMBIEN ERES MUY SIMPATIKO, AGRADABLE, ALEGRE, SINCERO, SENCILLO, E INTELIGENTE Y HERMOSO xD, ACERKA DE KE PUSE TU LINK NO TIENES KE AGRADECER ME AGRADA PONER A PERSONAS KE EN VERDAD LO VALEN SE NOTA KE TIENES BASTANTES AMIG@S PUES KOMO ALGUIEN KOMO TU NO ME ASOMBRA😉 SABIAS KE ME KAES SUEPER BIEN?…BUENO SI NO LO SABIAS YA LO SABES =); NO SE TE OLVIDE TU TAREA EH JEJEJE… YO NO TE DEJO DIBUJITO PUES KASI NO LE SE A ESO EN FIN…YO TAMBIEN TE ENVIO UN FUERTISISISMO ABRAZO Y UN ENORME KISS PARA MI ANGELITO HERMOSO, PESHOSHO😄 KE TENGAS LINDA NOCHE BYE BYE.

    • Angel
    • March 31st, 2006

    Tu espacio esta interesantisimo !! lo estuve leyendo por mas de dos horas y no me cansava de leerlo ,ya que tienes de todo .chistes noticias ,religion y mucho mas ,heres muy dinamico espero que me visites y me dejes tu comentario o algun consejo para hacerlo mejor ,mas o menos como el tuyo jajaja.
    Bueno espero tu visita y porfabor trata de poner mas entradas en ESPAñOL POR FAVOR !!!!!!!!!
     

    • Rammsess
    • March 31st, 2006

    All religions, arts and sciences are branches of the same tree. All these aspirations are directed toward ennobling man\’s life, lifting it from the sphere of mere physical existence and leading the individual towards beliefs freedom. The truth of a theory is in your mind, inconsequence your mind create your own world.
    ♥*´¨)
      ¸.•´ ¸.•*´¨)   ¸.•*¨)
    (¸ .•´      (¸.•´    ** HELLO”* ♥
    …*(¨´•.•´¨)“““-(¯` ♥’´¯)
           `·.¸.·´               `·.¸.·´
         ¸.·´¸.·´¨)  ¸.·*¨)
       (¸ .·´    (¸.·´     (¸.•´ ´¯`·♥“`~•´¯•VÍNN¥»-*…
      ♥ `·.¸.·´♥~~ > ·.¸.·´(¸.•´ ´¯(¸.·
     
     
     

    • Edilsa Cristina
    • April 1st, 2006

    Angel..
    Gracias por el corazonsote que me dejaste..así debe ser el tuyo..
    y no creas..no soy experta en esto del cyber espacio..
    lo que sucede es que desde que descubrí este universo paralelo..jeje..
    estoy sumergida en él..casi que es un vicio..
    me empeñé en hacer mi espacio más o menos que se pudiera ver..
    aún no es hermoso como el tuyo..pero no pierdo las esperanzas..
    algún día podré decirte..Viste Angelito, ya mi espacio es como el tuyo?..
    bsisitos grandotes pa ti pa ti..jeje..feliz fin de semana..

    • M M
    • April 1st, 2006

    hola!!!!!bueno ps tu blog sta baknisimo y tienes razon….bueno la vrdd ksi no he tnido tiempo para ddikrl a mi space pro tienes q ver el nuevo blog…y ps seguimos hablando….cuidate muxo….*aDiUs*

    • •SαяaÏ•
    • April 1st, 2006

    HOLA MI ANGELITO PESHOSHO….TE VINE A SALUDAR Y DARTE LAS GRACIAS KE HAIGAS YA LEIDO MIS ARCHIVOS ME AGRADA KE ME DEJES KOMENTARIOS Y LO KE TENGO PUES ES AHI KON LA INTENCION DE EXPRESARME EN FIN …MIL GRACIAS ESPERO KE TENGAS UN AGRADABLE FIN DE SEMANA A POR CIERTO AVER KE DIA TE ENKUENTRO EN LINEA POR KE NO MAS NO TE EH VISTO Y APARTE KERIA PEDIRTE UN FAVORCITO PEKEÑITO ES SOBRE INGLES.
     
     

    • ★§тдя★
    • April 8th, 2006

    mmm… ps la verdad estoy aki porke tenia la curiosidad de conocer al menos por su space al amigo de mi mejor amiga… sarai… alguna vez leí el comen de ke ibas a visitar el space de su famosa amiga, (osea yo) pero nunka vi un comen tuyo en mi space… ps ni modo, al menos te dejo el recuerdo de ke estuve aki… chao

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

